OK, here we go…

For the past three weeks I’ve been communicating with the world via the tip of my little finger, using a touch screen on a smartphone. This morning, hallelujah! We are connected!

Our little studio flat is very sweet, but we’ve been taking it step by step since we arrived three weeks ago. We stayed with Joel’s mum for a couple of days, and though she’s wonderful and a great cook, Ted spent all his time looking terrified under her wardrobe (on top of which she keeps Joel’s dad’s ashes…). He was fairly traumatised anyway from his 1,000-mile drive from Chiswick in a cat basket, so he deserved to get settled. I guess he didn’t notice that for the  first 10 days we didn’t have hot water, gas or electricity. We did.

Now Ted seems to be happy. We’re even beginning to fall into our routine: Joel leaves about nine every morning for the restaurant, after we’ve folded up our clic-clac bed and had pains au chocolat and coffee (there are three boulangeries within two minutes’ walk!). I turn on the computer and… procrastinate. I’m supposed to be finishing a novel. Joel and I have agreed that I’ll finish it October 12. How amazing is that, to be given the opportunity to live in the South of France and write a book, unimpeded by the need to work? My only distraction is to wander down to the restaurant, where I can help myself to rose wine on tap and chat with the regulars.

Unfortunately I find lots of other distractions here, too. I’ll keep you posted.

About Suellen Grealy

In 2011, a series of coincidences led my husband Joel, our cat Ted and me away from London, where we lived quite happily for 30 years, to Nice, where Joel grew up. While he and his sister ran their restaurant, I wrote a novel. Family being family, Joel and his sister no longer work together. Writing being writing, the novel lingers on... Meanwhile, we've found ways of living a completely different life from the one we had in London, including running our own restaurant together, 7 Villermont. The only constants are our Ted, our now-battered Peugeot, and each other. Everything else is a complete surprise
This entry was posted in Restaurants and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to OK, here we go…

  1. maryanne taragano rivera says:

    Oh, Suellen! How fabulous!!!!! When you have the time, please catch me up on all these exciting changes in your life! Good luck with the book, hope to read it one day!

  2. Annie McCulloch says:

    Beautiful photo of Ted and the view… Bon vivant!

  3. Annemarie Carlier says:

    Hi Suellen
    Seem to be a lot of changes (and exciting ones) in your life. Have you left London definitely or will you be going back in the winter?
    I was planning to visit you in the late summer in London but this calls for a change of plan! Enjoy and love and good luck to you both
    Annemarie

  4. Robin Morris says:

    I knew we’d get those novels done someday. I’m working on one too. Tell us what it is about!

  5. Janet Charatan says:

    Hi Suellen,

    What fab news – congratulations on what sounds like a fantastic move! A perfect destination and time to eat and write – what could be better? Enjoy and very good luck with the novel. I’ll look forward to your updates! Janet x

  6. Naoko Tamiya says:

    Hi Suellen
    How nice settling in Vintage flat in Nice! Great you have a blog so I can visit you here.
    Good luck with your book. meanwhile I will practice reading in English.

  7. Casey Jones says:

    Hope you’ll be back in London for the book launch! xx

Leave a Reply

