Easter Sunday Triathlon

Triathlon finish

If only we’d known! It was the Nice Triathlon this morning. You probably remember Joel and I got into triathlon last summer (jeez, I ranted on about it enough, didn’t I?), so we were very excited to see how it would all work out. Unfortunately for him, it’s Easter Sunday – the restaurant couldn’t be a man down right from start, so he didn’t get to see it. At last my Velobelo subscription works, so I picked up a bike round the corner and whizzed down from here to the sea in less than 10 minutes. As it was early and a holiday, there was hardly any traffic, so I went downhill a little faster than was really safe, feeling very, very, very happy.

The triathlon was very inspiring. I had to keep phoning Joel at the restaurant to tell him what was happening. It was also a little intimidating. In England there are always people like Joel and I, who don’t have all the best equipment. Here there wasn’t an old T-shirt in sight. But there were lots of older people (ie, not 22), and I saw a couple of big bottoms go by. I clapped extra hard for them…

I dropped in at the restaurant on the way back – packed on the terrace at 11am, and had been since Joel got there. I typed out the special Easter menu for Joel last night: roast kid, spaghetti with lobster, steak or filet de turbot. Joel tried to tempt me to stay, as the chef was just taking out a huge pissaladiere (a sort of onion-olive-anchovy pizza), which will be cut into squares and served with aperitifs. But I know ten minutes can turn into hours there. I started off talking to cousins Edouard and Anny, then that segued into a conversation with The Egg Man. He sells organic eggs and popped in for coffee. He’s pretty thrilled because he was interviewed in Nice Matin yesterday about using the free electric cars (AutoBleu) that have just been launched here. That could easily have segued into a chat with Michele’s friend Lili, who was installing herself for the day, but I resisted.

Easter cake at LAC

Yesterday was our 23rd wedding anniversary! I bought Joel a little cake from confiserie LAC, but like an idiot I squashed it by putting it in the basket of my bike. He didn’t care; it tasted terrific. There were queues of people in all the confiseries, buying their chocolate eggs and cakes and chickens and god knows what for Easter. I didn’t mind waiting.

Chocolate chicken

No words so far today exceptionellement. I’m just about to begin.

Easter egg

About Suellen Grealy

In 2011, a series of coincidences led my husband Joel, our cat Ted and me away from London, where we lived quite happily for 30 years, to Nice, where Joel grew up. While he and his sister ran their restaurant, I wrote a novel. Family being family, Joel and his sister no longer work together. Writing being writing, the novel lingers on... Meanwhile, we've found ways of living a completely different life from the one we had in London, including running our own restaurant together, 7 Villermont. The only constants are our Ted, our now-battered Peugeot, and each other. Everything else is a complete surprise
This entry was posted in Restaurants and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

