July 31: The Restaurant Years

We had a freebie test weekend for friends etc, and so far, so good! On Saturday we had 27 people, for brunch today we had 17. I haven’t dropped anything so far, that’s all I can say. Today I even used the till –  quite an achievement. The pics below include a couple who strolled in for coffee this morning, so we served them and took REAL MONEY – so they were officially our very first paying customers (the couple with Joel still wearing his running gear, which he wears for dragging tables around). There’s also a pic of our chef, Michel. I think we’re lucky to have him – so far people are really happy with what they’ve eaten. Brunch today included the Oeufs Royale, and a bloody mary… There’s also a pic here of a bunch of wimmin and Joel – friends who hung around after they’d eaten until Joel and I ate after the service – felt like such a very restauranty thing to do. There’s also a pic here of a house I noticed on Saturday morning when I went to drop sheets from the studios off for washing. It was so early in the morning I could actually park in the street beside the laundry, and when I looked up, the beautiful frieze of pigeons and roosters is what I saw.

So, now I’m thinking that after these three or four restaurant years, I would like to raise goats in the mountains and have three huge slobbery dogs. Anything to avoid finishing off that novel, I guess.

 

About Suellen Grealy

In 2011, a series of coincidences led my husband Joel, our cat Ted and me away from London, where we lived quite happily for 30 years, to Nice, where Joel grew up. While he and his sister ran their restaurant, I wrote a novel. Family being family, Joel and his sister no longer work together. Writing being writing, the novel lingers on... Meanwhile, we've found ways of living a completely different life from the one we had in London, including running our own restaurant together, 7 Villermont. The only constants are our Ted, our now-battered Peugeot, and each other. Everything else is a complete surprise
This entry was posted in Restaurants. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

